The Necessary Evil…

As I’ve been on this journey to health, I have learned that cooking is a necessity. But here’s the thing about me and cooking- I DON’T like it. I can cook, I just don’t enjoy it in the least. Luckily, I’ve found some great, healthy recipes courtesy of Pinterest and other blogs. I made one of these tonight, and it was a huge hit so I thought I’d share! Please note that I am not specifying regular vs. no/low-fat, so you have the option of using whichever you prefer. I have made it twice, once with ‘regular’ ingredients and once with healthier options, and it tasted fabulous both ways!

Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

5 oz. Cream of Broccoli soup

5 oz. Cream of Mushroom soup (I use low sodium)

1/3 cup Mayonnaise

2 tbsp. Milk

1 1/4 cup Shredded Cheese (this is your choice, I prefer sharp cheddar)

1/2 tsp. Sugar

1/4 tsp. Black Pepper

a dash of Nutmeg

1-2 cups COOKED Broccoli (depends on your personal preferences)

1 1/2 cup COOKED Quinoa (3/4 cup uncooked)

1 1/2 cup Water

1/4 tsp. Salt

Fresh Parmesan (I prefer shredded)

**Baby Bella Mushrooms (recipe does not actually call for these- I usually add ~1/2+ cup of diced mushrooms, but I LOVE mushrooms!)**

To Cook Quinoa

1. Rinse quinoa in a fine sieve until water runs clear.

2. In a small saucepan, combing quinoa, water, and salt. Bring to a boil over high heat.

3. Reduce heat to low and cover. Cook for 18-20 minutes or until the quinoa is fluffy and the white ring/tail is visible.

4. Fluff with a fork.

While Quinoa is Cooking

5. Pre-heat oven to 350*.

6. Coat a shallow casserole dish (8×8) with cooking spray.

7. In a large bowl, combine soup, mayo, milk, shredded cheese, sugar, pepper, and nutmeg until well mixed.

Once Quinoa is Finished

8. Stir quinoa, broccoli, and mushrooms into mix.

9. Spoon mix into prepared casserole dish.

10. Sprinkle Parmesan on top of mix.

11. Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the edges bubble and turn golden.

*Recipe makes 8 generous 1/2 cup servings.

The first time I made this, I also added shredded chicken to the mix. This time, we had chicken with the quinoa dish as a side, and it really makes no difference. I hope y’all enjoy this recipe- let me know if you try it, especially if you change anything for the better!

Hugs and Love,

A

PS- Follow me on Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/lavidabella1119/

Leave a Reply

